Pujols & The bullpen

Pujols

Albert Pujols is a beast.  If I was the kind of person who wondered if certain players were on illegal performance enhancing drugs, I might let my mind go there— HOWEVER, I am NOT that kind of person.

I’ll just bow down and say “I’m not worthy” when in comes to Pujols, and sit an reflect why he’s not a Phillie.

Anyway, I digress, so the Phillies lost their 2nd game in row last night and have already lost their first series of the season.  Ho hum.

Of course it is very early, and to make any statements like “THIS SEASON IS OVER… TIME TO JUMP OFF THE BEN FRANKLIN BRIDGE” seem a bit premature. I’ll wait until we are at least a week into the season before screaming that from the rooftops.

Of course, there has to be a reason for losing the first two games, and I would have to point the finger at pitching.  Everyone that follows Phillies baseball knows that pitching had a huge question mark over it over this season.  Our bullpen lost two excellent pitchers, Billy Wagner & Ugeth Urbina.  The Phillies could have folded and given into the demands of Wagner, but did not, and I have to say I was happy.  As much as I respect Wagner’s ability, let’s face it, he’s not 24 years old, with no history of injuries.  I thought what the Phillies offered was fair, he got what he wanted through the Mets so that’s life.

Urbina, is currently in a Venezulen jail for the foreseeable future, so there’s not a whole lot that can be done there. 

Jailbird_urbina

So our bullpen with those two key losses and couple that with the fact that Madson is out of the bullpen and into the starting rotation this year… there’s BIG holes to be filled out there.  The bullpen is filled with a bunch of old timers (Tom “Flash” Gordon & Arthur Rhoades) and young kids (Ryan Franklin, Aaron Fultz, Geoff Geary).

So far, pitching has been VERY unimpressive, and I PRAY to the baseball god “base ba’al” that he/she will have mercy on us the fans and send some help.  Otherwise, this will be a very long year…..

THE STEAK CONTINUES… 38!

Ph_rollins_640x480

Leave a Reply

